Student Poll
What are your plans for this summer?
Architecture Internship
Summer Classes
Construction Work



The 20th Annual Grassroots Conference was a Success!

The Grassroots 2004 conference was held July 22nd -25th, in Washington, DC with a near record attendance. Images from the conference will be available soon in the Conferences section of the Web site. If you have any photos to contribute, please email them to us.

2004 AIAS Honor Award Winners Announced!
The American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) announced the winners of the 2004 AIAS National Honor Awards at its annual Grassroots leadership conference, July 22-25, 2004. The results are in and the winners are:

Chapter University of Nebraska
Chapter President Michelle Acosta, Arizona State University
Community Service Vietnam / 50:50 Sharing Community Effort,
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico
Educator Mohammed Bilbeisi, Oklahoma State University
Special Accomplishment The Rooms of a City, Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico
Student Research Capilla del Santo Cristo de la Salud in Old San Juan,
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico

Chair Affair Competition Results
The six finalist chairs were judged and displayed at the 2004 AIA Convention / extender benefits in Chicago. Chairs were exhibited in the AIAS Student Lounge at the Design Exposition. These finalists competed for over $3475 worth of prize money. The prizes were awarded to:

Chiaohsun Terry Chang - State University of New York at Buffalo
First Prize ($1000)
Chapter ($275)

Christopher Pritchett - Virginia Tech
Second Prize ($750)
Chapter ($200)

Jill Bills and Jesse Bulman - Iowa State University
Third Place ($500)
Chapter ($150)

The jury also awarded Honorable mentions ($200) to the following:

Dale Sanders, Henry Louth, Stuart Hand and Rush Carolton - Louisiana State University
Amy McCarty and Hatti Terrell - University of Arkansas
Sam Neves - Texas A&M University